Thursday 4th Jun, 2020

New board members for Gippsland Ports chosen

Global port operator DP World has acquired an additional stake in DP World Australia from Gateway Infrastructure Investments and other financial investors.

The Victorian Government has appointed new board members for the Gippsland Ports Committee of Management, which will oversee the creation of local jobs.

Robin Buckham will assume the role of chair of the board and is experienced leading and managing ports, regional development and manufacturing.

Buckham will be joined by Chris Badger, Ralph Kenyon, Vivien Williamson and current board member Joanne Butterworth-Gray.

The board was selected for its knowledge and experience in freight, logistics, ports, regional resources and local government.

Related stories;

It will be responsible for the management of Gippsland’s five ports, two waterways and connected industries.

Board appointments are for made for three-year periods, with monthly meetings beginning in August 2019.

Victorian Ports and Freight Minister, Melissa Horne, said the Committee of Management is responsible for more than 1430 square kilometres of waterways from Anderson Inlet to Mallacoota.

“Gippsland Port’s new leadership, under Chair Robin Buckham, is focused on growing Gippsland’s economy and helping industry create jobs for locals,” Horne said.

“I want to thank former Chair Geoff Hocking for his hard work and service with Gippsland Ports.”