Upcoming Events

Women in Industry 2021 winners announced

The winners of the 2021 Women in Industry Awards have been announced at a gala event in Melbourne, in recognition of the outstanding success of women in traditionally male-dominated markets.

The awards aim to recognise the hard work and dedication of women in industries such as mining, road transport, manufacturing, engineering, logistics, bulk handling, waste management, rail and infrastructure.

Notably, Engineers Australia Chief Executive Officer Bronwyn Evans received both Woman of the Year and Excellence in Engineering awards – a testament to her particular achievements, excellence and contribution to the engineering sector.

In accepting the award, Evans said there was still more that needs to be done to increase the number of women in industry.

“Nights like tonight are important so we can celebrate our successes. However, we still need to have difficult conversations about education, bias, assumptions and missed opportunities for women in industry,” she said.

“We know we will have succeeded when women are represented 50 per cent top to bottom.  I urge all of us here tonight to use our profiles and our influence to be role models and to be champions for the amazing women who are joining our industries and professions.”

The 2021 Women in Industry Award winners are:

Social Leader of the Year

  • Jo Withford – Senior Project Engineer, Transport for NSW

Mentor of the Year

  • Larissa Rose – Director Consultant, GG Enviro

Industry Advocacy Award

  • Megan McCracken – Chair, NAWO

Excellence in Engineering 

  • Bronwyn Evans – CEO, Engineers Australia

Excellence in Manufacturing 

  • Shay Chalmers – Director, Strategic Engineering Australia Pty Ltd

Safety Advocacy Award

  • Stephanie O’Dwyer – Manager Health, Wellbeing and Innovation, BlueScope Steel

Excellence in Mining 

  • Christine Morris – Director Strategy & Performance, Komatsu Mining

Excellence in Transport 

  • Catherine Baxter – Chief Operating Officer, Metro Trains

Business Development Success 

  • Lacey Webb – Founder & Director, Resource Hub

Rising Star of the Year

  • Monique Yap – Graduate Engineer, Weir Minerals

Women of the Year 

  • Bronwyn Evans – CEO, Engineers Australia
Send this to a friend